MJB Data : web design, technical development & marketing intelligence

 
[ home | news | articles | contact mjb | spiders ]

BravoBrian SpiderEngine MarcoPolo

All roads lead to Rome, and the trail to this IP leads to trinityroma.com and a Flash 'under construction' page.

This is a speedy spider, which crawled 2 of my sites in just a few seconds, which could be construed as slightly impolite, particularly by those looking after large sites, but I'm not that suspicious and won't block it for now. If I get spam from Italy, I'll obviously reconsider.

status : not blocked
First noticed : 2002-11-15
earliest IP address : 213.215.133.19

Notes below added : Dec 18, 2003
A year after first seeing this critter the site at trinityroma.com is still under construction. However, 'BravoBrian SpiderEngine MarcoPolo' is the top referring search term to this site which suggests the User Agent is anything but dormant.

There is a link in the Flash file found here which points to www.sislog.it so if any of you out there can speak Italian, please visit the site and perhaps ask the webmaster to shine some light on this mystery.

MJB.

Notes below added : Feb 13, 2004
Finally the mystery is solved.

See : http://www.mjbdata.co.uk/news.php?item_id=23


[ a - e ] [ f - j ] [ k - o ] [ p - t ] [ u - z ] [ other ]


spiders